The Council Board is comprised of a set number of members representing a diverse range of interests from across the region. These board members are tasked with (among other things) overseeing committees, creating and updating bylaws, administering Council business and appointing new members.

If you or your organization are interested in applying for a Council/Board position, contact SMFC via the contact page. Anyone can attend and participate in SMFC meetings, however, only appointed Board members will have voting privileges.

Southern Maryland Food Council Membership

Table crop producers (2) – (farmers, watermen)
Talmage Petty (Hollywood Oyster Company)

Chef/cook (1)

Large-scale food processor (1)

Grocer (1)

Anti-hunger (1-3)
Brenda DiCarlo (Director of the Southern Maryland Food Bank)
Roseanna Vogt (President of Circle of Angels)

Extension (1)
Liat Mackey (University of Maryland Extension)

At-large community member (1-3)
Veronica Cristo (Chesapeake’s Bounty, Calvert County Master Gardener)

Healthcare (1) – (preferably nutritionist)
Thomas Brewer

Food services (1-2) – (schools, hospitals, etc)
William Kreuter (Food Services Director of Charles County Schools)

Agricultural development (1-2)

County government (1-2)

Education (1)
Bonita Adeeb (Young Researchers’ Community Project Sponsor)

Food Council Network (Non-Board Members):
Dr. Meenakshi Brewster (St. Mary’s Health Officer at Department of Hygiene and Mental Health)
Greg Bowen (Citizen)
Conni James (Southern Maryland Agricultural Development Commission)
Will Kreamer (Owner of Chesapeake’s Bounty)
Priscilla Wentworth (Southern Maryland Agricultural Development Commission)
Jennifer Carnahan (Southern Maryland Agricultural Development Commission)